Skip to content

Accreditation and certification are very much about following specific standards. Here is a summary of the standards that are applied in Swedac’s activities.

For accreditation bodies

Swedac and other accreditation bodies follow this standard.


SWEDAC accredits bodies in areas where the following standards must be met:


  • SS-EN ISO/IEC 17025
  • SS-EN ISO/IEC 15189 (some laboratories in health care)

Certification bodies

  • SS-EN ISO/IEC 17021-1 (management systems)
  • SS-EN ISO/IEC 17024 (persons)
  • SS-EN ISO/IEC 17065 (products)
  • EMAS

Inspection bodies

  • SS-EN ISO/IEC 17020

Bodies for validation and verification

  • SS-EN ISO/IEC 17029
  • SS-EN ISO 14065 (greenhouse gases)

Organisers of the programmes for proficiency testing

  • SS-EN ISO/IEC 17043

Producers of reference materials

  • SS-EN ISO/IEC 17034


Swedac accredits certification bodies that certify according to the following standards:

Management systems, example

  • SS-EN ISO 9001 (quality management systems)
  • SS-EN ISO 14001 (environmental management systems)
  • ISO 50001 (energy management systems)
  • ISO 27001 (information security management systems
  • SIS-ISO 45001 (work environment management systems)
  • SS-EN ISO 13485  (medical devices management systems)

Products and processes

This area contains a diversity of requirements documents.


The area contains a diversity of requirements documents.